top of page
  • Writer's pictureparentingandheels

Grandma Lela’s Noodles (More than just a noodle)


My Great Grandma Lela was the kind of person everyone loved. She was a very quiet lady with the greatest sense of humor, and she just radiated kindness and warmth. She lived on a farm, long before the Great Depression, that my grandfather managed and he would have many workers that helped him. At night they would all come in and have dinner at my grandparent‘s house. Lela would make batches and batches of these noodles for the workers when they came to dinner. She would make them early in the day and have tons of noodles strewn about the house laid out to dry.

This noodle recipe has been passed down generation to generation. I now make them with my daughter (which makes them a 5th generation recipe😄). When we make them I can feel her with us. I know that she would have great joy in knowing we continue to enjoy that little piece of her still. Because, when you taste these noodles, it’s not just a noodle you’re eating, it’s like tasting a piece of history.


Ingredients:

2 beaten eggs

2 T milk

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 c flour


Mix ingredients, adding flour last. Form into a ball and flatten. Roll between floured cloths. Dry at least 20 minutes. Cut into 2 1/2” strips. Lay on top of each other and cut again. You should have long strips like the picture above. Boil in chicken or turkey stock (do not use broth or you will lose that rich flavor). Also note that these are homemade noodles so they will take about double the time to cook. Just check the texture periodically until you get it the way you like it.

Freeze any uncooked noodles for later.

*I always double this recipe for my family of 4😊


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page