top of page
  • Writer's pictureparentingandheels

How My Manicure Lasted a Month!




We all love getting pampered with a manicure. There’s something that feels so feminine and beautiful about freshly polished nails. I have started getting my nails done at Frenchie’s and I’m hooked! I love being pampered and the fact that I don’t have to paint my nails myself every week.


You have asked, “What happens after that first day of perfectly polished nails though?” You spend the money to get them done and you want it to last. Here’s how I kept my manicure looking beautiful for a month!

  1. You get what you pay for - have it done professionally. There‘s a reason you pay for it. They know how to prep the nails properly to make them “thirsty” and soak up that nail polish keeping them from chipping. Did you know the cuticle actually grows over the entire nail!? If the nails aren’t buffed and prepped properly it’s just going to peel off in a matter of days because it’s painted over top of this thin layer of cuticle.


2. Choose a quality gel polish - It will last much longer than the basic polish. Frenchie’s has a huge selection of safe and vegan options.

3. Hydrate your nails - After you have beautifully polished nails it’s up to you to keep them that way. One reason our nails chip is because they don’t stay hydrated. Use a cuticle oil on and around your nails every day. It makes your cuticles soft and beautiful too!


4. Wear rubber gloves - Water will destroy your nails faster than anything so use rubber gloves when doing the dishes and cleaning the house. You can even go a step further and use surgical gloves when washing your hair. I have even thrown on gloves when changing the car seat out to keep them from chipping. It may seem excessive but you asked how I kept them looking good!😉


5. Touch up if necessary - If you happen to get a small chip or snag gently (and I mean gently) file the jagged spot and then paint the whole nail with a good quality top coat, including the underneath of the nail. Also, if it starts to lift where it’s growing out use a top coat over the entire nail. This will prevent further chipping. Choose a topcoat that has a shiny finish. I like OPI.

That‘s it! It’s not rocket science keeping your nails looking good once you know what to do! 💕


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page