top of page
  • Writer's pictureparentingandheels

An Elegant Tablescape in 5 Easy Steps


Does the word “tablescape” give you anxiety? It used to intimidate me so much, but it really doesn’t need to be complicated or expensive to look elegant. Elegance can be simplistic.


LAY THE FOUNDATION To any good tablescape you need an anchor. Whether it’s a table runner, tablecloth, or mirrors this sets the stage for your dinnerwear.



PLATING Do you have china that sits in your cabinet untouched? It’s time to bring those dishes out! Don’t wait for the Queen of England to arrive. I know some of you are saying, “But, I don’t have nice china.” That’s ok! Simple white everyday wear can be just as beautiful. It’s all in the layering. I layered these pieces to give my table dimension. Don’t forget tea cups with saucers or stemwear.


NAPKINS You don’t need to know origami to fold your napkins. I just tri-folded these napkins lengthwise and layered it in with my china.


GIVE YOUR TABLE A FOCAL POINT I used these magnolia leaves as part of my centerpiece . Holly, evergreen or simple branches with berries work well too. My hydrangeas aren’t really “holiday” but the white gives an elegant touch without a lot of fuss. Use whatever you have in your home or purchase an inexpensive stem or two at Hobby Lobby.



AMBIANCE It’s all in the lighting. What’s elegance without some good ambiance. (My husband rolls his eyes at this word but he secretly loves it 😂) I don’t know a single person that doesn’t have candles lying around the house. Use anything from crystal candlesticks to multiple votive holders (they don’t have to match) to sprinkle down the table. I used some of my grandmother‘s vintage candle sticks and some random votives I found. Add some fairy lights and you have all the ambiance you need!





That wasn’t too daunting was it?! Bon appétit!💕

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page